IT’S OUR ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY!

Today we are particularly happy, because we are celebrating the very first birthday of this blog. It was around the same time last October, when we were both finalizing minor details just days before we would post our first stories. Everything had to be just like we wanted it. After all, we have been planning this debut for months.

But how did it all start?

My internship was coming to an end – Nadia’s had ended a couple months before mine – and I had been finding myself in the awkward position of having to figure out my next step. Truth be told, I had just started thinking whether it was time to start to my own blog, not necessarily with an ambition to become a high-profile fashion blogger but more as an opportunity of putting my work out there. A week later Nadia pitched me the very same idea: we should start our own blog together.

les-assorties-blog-alexandra-zografou-nadia-christodoulou

It was only that moment when I realized that Nadia can actually read my mind. Though we had only met four months before eventually deciding to partner and didn’t know much about each other, this decision felt just right.

To me, Nadia was the nice girl that first approached me asking if I could help her set up a Google mail signature – I bet she still remembers; the girl that was smiling at me from the across desk, and planned our lunch date each morning the moment she would walk into the office; the only girl that can make “Alex” sound nice – I hate it when people call me that; I mean, I had heard that Cancer (me) and Capricorn (her) could in fact develop a compatible friendship, but come on!

In her own words: “I remember the day Alex and I took the decision to build something of our own. Like any plan, this was also something that had to go through many stages. At first, we felt a tremendous excitement, but at the back of our minds we were uncertain whether our ambitious plan would develop. Then the more we talked about it the more we became fascinated with it, and realized that not a day had passed that had not come up with a few – at least – ideas about it; and so Les Assorties aka Alex and me (aka my soul mate and me) found our way organically in the end.

I have come to truly love her. Not because without her my thoughts and ideas about this website would be a mere chaos; not because if you see her walking down the street, you will immediately think that she has just jumped out of a film noir, which makes her kind of adorable; but because, no matter how different we are, at the end of the day our emotions and thoughts collide, which is magical.”

les-assorties-blog-alexandra-zografou-nadia-christodoulou

Today, a year later, we are so content with the way this blog is developing, and the wonderful people we have the chance to meet every day. We just wanted to take a moment to thank each and every one of you for your support, and the time you take to read this blog. We promise to keep the quality high and deliver amazing content. Keep coming back because the best is yet to come.

les-assorties-anniversary-alexandra-zografou-nadia-christodoulou

Much love,

Alexandra & Nadia

Images © Maria Dimitropoulou for Les Assorties

3 responses to “IT’S OUR ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY!

Leave a comment